mid-week shenanigans…

Happy Wednesday amigos!

I hope your week has been stellar thus far, mine got started at 6 am on Monday and so far it’s been awesome!

Lately I’ve been in a bit of a fitness rut. I would do some light running one day and then maybe some pilates the next day, but I felt pretty lackluster while doing them. So on Monday morning I tried a new fitness class called Orange Theory! I had heard about Orange Theory through word of mouth, so I decided to check it out for myself! After reading through their website, I called and scheduled my free class! I did the 8:15 class because I love to get my workout in first thing in the morning! Plus, a good morning workout can just make you feel so good throughout the day (thanks endorphins!).

I arrived early so I could fill out some paperwork and get a quick run through of the workout and the machines with my trainer. I really liked that the trainer met with you to make sure you felt comfortable with everything!

The neat thing about this workout is that they give you a heart monitor so that while you workout you can look up at a screen that tells you what zone your heart rate is in! There are 3 key zones you want to stay somewhere around those being, green, orange, and red. The trainer will give you a heart rate to try and stay around so that you get the maximum effect!

facilities screen

(picture source)

At 8:15 I was pumped and ready to go! There are three stations that you switch between: treadmills, rowing machines, and free weights. I was on the treadmill first. We started out with a nice warmup and then got into our base pace, which is a simple pace that you don’t feel too much discomfort at. Then we switched to our push pace, which is where you might feel slightly uncomfortable. Finally, we switched into a quick 30 second all out pace, which is where you go, like the name, all out! Next, I went to the rowing machines to do a quick 3 minutes! In class today we had a competition to see who could get to 500 meters the fastest! I got there at 2:04, but the winner had a time of 1:50! After the rowing machines it was time for another round of the treadmills! I’ll admit, at times I felt really tired, but they encourage you to go at your own pace and try to push yourself the best you can!

ot

(picture source)

After the treadmills, it was time for some free weight reps! In the weight area there’s a TV monitor that shows you the moves you’ll be doing and the number of reps you have. I went with the ten pound weights and let me tell you, I’m still feeling the burn as I type this! After round one of weights it was back to the treadmills one last time! I loved how the treadmill intervals lasted for no longer than 10 minutes (but that might vary class to class!). Finally we ended with one more round of weights, some core work, and then a nice stretch session!

facilities steps

(picture source)

Once the class was complete, my trainer showed me how long I was in each zone and said overall that I did a great job! I was really encouraged by this! This class really got me out of my comfort zone which is exactly what I needed! For a while now I would try and avoid group fitness classes because I would always compare myself to the other class members. I would just waste so much time and energy doing that! This class was different though! I felt like I was in competition with myself and now I’m on a mission to push myself harder (but in a safe way of course!) I’m heading back on Friday, so I’ll for sure update you all with how it goes!

Once I got home I received an email with my class results! It was so neat to look at how I did!

IMG_5113

Afterwards, my mom and I had some brunch at Another Broken Egg Cafe! I got the granola and blueberry quinoa bowl! It has granola, blueberry quinoa, strawberries, toasted coconut bananas, greek yogurt drizzle, and coconut milk in it! SO yummy!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Well friends, I’m off to play some dance central becauseeeeee I’m hooked…plus, who doesn’t love to dance?!

Talk soon!

Leave a comment