A Diamond in the Rough: Lake City, Colorado

Lake City is such a special place to me. Ever since I can remember, my family has come out every year either in the winter or the summer. Mostly the summer because let’s be real, Colorado snow is no joke.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I love the fact that Lake City stays true to their original roots. While they do have modern amenities, most, if not all, of their buildings downtown are original structures from when they first began building back in 1884.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

DSC_0016

DSC_0028It is a very small town, but I love how friendly everyone is. Everyone waves at each other and genuinely cares about their neighbor. The storeowners know customers by name and each store helps out other stores, whether it’s loaning cups and ice to each other or promoting each other’s store. I find that so cool that the stores build each other up, hoping to see their fellow stores flourish.

Another thing I love about Lake City is their food! One of my favorite restaurants is Garlic Mike’s Italian Cuisine. Each time we go we sit on their patio surrounded by bright flowers and the sound of the river in the background.

IMG_5832

A view of the river

Their food is packed with flavor, mostly garlic of course! Everything taste so fresh and the staff treats you like family.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Their fresh homemade bread with garlic butter

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We love to get the calamari appetizer with fresh marinara

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My go to meal is the chicken marsala, served with spinach and garlic mashed potatoes

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I also like to order a side caesar salad

And we never leave without ordering their famous dessert, bananas foster! They serve it with a cinnamon ice cream and the taste is out of this world! It’s best enjoyed with some coffee.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 Besides their amazing food, Lake City is also my favorite place to visit because of all the things you can do outside! With highs generally in the 70’s it’s hard to stay inside, plus the views are incredible! Also, it’s just so refreshing to breathe in fresh air and clear your mind.

They have great walking trails that take you by the river and along the way you run into so many beautiful plants, as well as animals!

IMG_5830 IMG_5844

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Another fun activity to do outdoors is to go on a picnic! We love to go up the mountain and roast hotdogs and smores.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Finally, we always make time to fish. I love fishing with my grandpa because it gives us lots of time to talk and create memories.

DSC_0072

DSC_0104

Overall, this town makes me slow down. I feel no stress and the living here is relaxed and peaceful. Each visit makes me unplug and embrace a simpler lifestyle. That is why Lake City, Colorado is by far my favorite place in the world.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a comment