A Magical Time: Part Two, Animal Kingdom

*que opening Lion King music*

After a wonderful day one and some much needed sleep, we started getting ready for our day at Animal Kingdom

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We arrived right when the park opened because we had 9:30 reservations for the character breakfast at Tusker House.

The restaurant was adorable! With all the staff in character and the rustic design it really felt like you were somewhere in the safari.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetDSCF9677 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_3699 2

The breakfast was set up in buffet style and boy was it good! I ate just about everything you could get, becauseeee why not?

They had everything from eggs and pastries to fresh cut meats! I think my favorite part though was seeing all the characters in their safari gear! We of course got picture with all of them…

DSCF9669  DSCF9667

DSCF9672  DSCF9673

After eating our hearts content and we met all the characters we headed out to venture around…

DSCF9676

IMG_3723

IMG_3729

IMG_3728 2

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Animal Kingdom, as well as the rest of Disney World, was incredibly detailed. I seriously felt like I was in a foreign country and not in Orlando.

While we were in “Africa” we took a ride on the Kilimanjaro Safari! It was so incredible! Most of the animals on the safari, if not all of them, are in danger of extinction so they created this little piece of safari for the animals to roam around on.

DSCF9684 DSCF9691 DSCF9695 DSCF9697 DSCF9700 DSCF9701 DSCF9704

We had such a fun and adventurous ride that we decided to ride it again later!

After roaming around “Africa” for a while (and grabbing a pineapple dole whip), we moseyed on over to “India” to go tackle Expedition Everest!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Such.a.thrilling.ride. Oh man, I loved every second of this ride! The first time we rode it we were all a bit nervous, but afterwards my dad and I were ready to ride it again! This ride has you going forwards and backwards…and in the dark (for just a little bit though). Kudos, Disney, this ride was rad!

When our stomachs started growling we headed over to Dinoland! We stopped by Restaurantosaurus and got some lunch! I went the herbivore route and got their veggie burger…it was quite tasty!

Afterwards, we decided to hit the rides again! Our first ride was a little kid-ish, but hey we’re all kids when we’re at Disney…

IMG_3731 2

Next, my dad and I rode Disney’s version of Crazy mouse! I would have taken pictures but with the ride whipping us around like it did, I didn’t want to risk my phone flying across the park! After the ride we ran into our good friends Pluto and Goofey…

DSCF9714

So I can’t believe I’m even sharing this tidbit, but it’s so embarrassing/hilarious I just have to. The next ride we rode takes you around in a jeep as you “time travel” back into the age of the dinosaurs. It was dark and smokey and occasionally Dinosaurs pop out at you. Well…towards the end the big grand finale T-Rex pops up and scares the life out of me. Not lying. (Sorry for the poor phone quality photo)

IMG_3956

If you want to see the face of sheer terror it’s this one right here ^

After that terrifying event (haha), we just had to visit the Tree of Life! My goodness was it incredible…

IMG_3703 2

IMG_3787 IMG_3788 IMG_3789 IMG_3790 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And as if it couldn’t get any cooler, we watched a Bug’s Life short film under the tree! It was so neat!

Animal Kingdom was insanely cool!

For dinner that night we headed over to the Boardwalk, which was adorable!

DSCF9726 DSCF9727 DSCF9728 DSCF9729

Our dinner was nice, but the best part had to be dessert (but isn’t it always?) For dessert I had a chocolate, peanut butter, banana, and candied bacon bar. I died. Whew, it was great.

The Boardwalk was the perfect way to end the night, it made you feel like you were in the twenties! I loved it!

For it only being the second day we had been in Disney, we had already seen and done so much!

But only more magic was to come…

Next stop…EPCOT!

IMG_3826

Leave a comment